Big Band Dance at Centennial Park

The Big Band Dance series at Centennial Park is hands down one of my favorite events of the summer. Happy days are here again because Metro Parks is bringing the Big Band Dance back to Centennial Park for 2022! Enjoy a free concert every Saturday night (except July 2!) all summer long.

In addition to hearing an amazing musical ensemble, dance lessons are offered by Dynamic Ballroom and Performing Arts at each event. Learn to swing, waltz, foxtrot, rumba and more! The only negative thing I can say about the dance is that Middle Tennesseans love this event and that makes for a BIG crowd. Don’t let this keep you from jumping and jiving though. Just plan to arrive early.

Each dance is scheduled from 7-9:30 PM on Saturday evenings. Try to arrive by 6:15PM. Pack a picnic or buy dinner from a food truck and make a night of it. This is a perfect family outing or date night. And if you have some teens, load a whole bunch of them in your minivan and let them loose on the dance floor. Did I mention that this awesome entertainment is completely FREE?

Y’all, I just can’t wait for summer 🙂

2022 Metro Parks Big Band Dance Schedule 

Saturday June 4 –  Rory Partin All-Star Big Band (Rhumba)
Saturday June 11 – Lynn Beal Big Band (Rhumba)
Saturday June 18 – Jazz Alliance (Cha Cha)
Saturday June 25 Debbi Bales Band (Cha Cha)
Saturday July 2 –  *NO CONCERT 4th of July Weekend
Saturday July 9 – Music City Big Band (Swing)
Saturday July 16 – South Jackson St. Band (Swing)
Saturday July 23 –  Music City Swing (Foxtrot)
Saturday July 30 – Merchants of Cool (Foxtrot)
Saturday August 6 – Radio Daze (Waltz)
Saturday August 13 – Big Band Ballroom (Waltz)
Saturday August 20 – Paul Ross Orchestra (Two-Step)
Saturday August 27 – Moonlighters Big Band (Two-Step)

*Schedule subject to change. May be cancelled due to inclement weather. Check the Twitter page for weather related announcements.

Rachel is a Middle Tennessee native, born and raised in the Nashville area and having lived in Hendersonville, Murfreesboro, and Mount Juliet. She is mom to 3, step mom to 4 and Grandma to one (so far!)

4 thoughts on “Big Band Dance at Centennial Park”

    • Good catch! Yes, it is July 16. All concerts are on Friday this year. Sorry for the confusion.

  1. We are planning a girls get a way in September. The 24th – 28th, cebrating turning 60! We are staying close to the park. Is there any events planned at that time?

    Reply

Leave a Comment